Founded In
Vilnius, Lithuania

About Žalgiris

Vilniaus Miesto Futbolo Draugija Žalgiris, known more simply as Žalgiris, was first established back in April 1962. Based in the capital city of Vilnius, the team initially competed during the Soviet era, but have emerged as one of the most successful sides in Lithuania in recent times. They are nicknamed 'Žaliai Balti', which translates to 'The Green Whites'.

While competing in the USSR, Žalgiris were the most successful Lithuanian team and experienced something of a golden era during the 1980s. In 1982, the team won the Soviet First League and spent several years in the country's top tier, the Soviet Top League. In 1987, they finished in 3rd place in the league and gained qualification to the UEFA Cup, where they eventually eliminated the cup holders, IFK Göteborg.

Since Lithuania gained independence from the Soviet Union, Žalgiris have achieved even greater levels of success, winning A Lyga titles in 1991, 1992, 1999 and 2013. In addition, they have lifted the Lithuanian Cup a total of seven times. In the 1991 and 2013 seasons, the club won both the league and cup, completing domestic doubles. Further silverware has been won in the Lithuanian Super Cup, which the team claimed in both 2003 and 2013. Their performances at domestic level have enabled them to compete in the preliminary rounds of both the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League.

Some of the most notable players to have played for the club include Igoris Morinas, Mindaugas Malinauskas and Virginijus Baltušnikas. All three players also represented the Lithuania national team.

Žalgiris' home matches are held at Lithuanian Football Federation Stadium, known more simply as LFF Stadium. The venue was built in 2004 and was previously known as Vėtra Stadium. It has undergone renovations in recent times, in order to meet UEFA criteria, and is currently able to hold a total of 5,500 spectators.

Loading ...