Founded In
Aalborg, Denmark

About AaB

AaB Fodbold, usually known as AaB and sometimes known as Aalborg BK, was founded in May 1885. The football team are part of a larger sports club, called Aalborg Boldspilklub and have spent the vast majority of their history in the top flight of Danish football, currently known as the Danish Superliga. 

The club first truly established itself as a major force in Danish football during the late 1960s and early 1970s. AaB appeared in three Danish Cup finals in the space of five years, lifting the trophy in 1966 and 1970 and finishing as runners up in 1967. The 1969 season also saw the team put in a solid display in the domestic league, eventually finishing in 3rd place. However, the club's true golden era would not come until the 1990s.

AaB won their first ever Danish Superliga title in 1994-95, finishing ahead of their closest title rivals, Brøndby IF. A second league success followed in 1998–99 before they claimed their third SuperLiga crown in 2007–08. In 1995, they became the first Danish club to compete in the group stage of the UEFA Champions League, a feat they repeated in 2008–09. Later in 2008–09, they reached the last sixteen stage of the UEFA Cup, which represents their best performance in a continental competition to date.

A number of well-known Danish international footballers have played for the club, with some of the most notable examples including Kjeld Thorst, Jesper Grønkjær and Søren Frederiksen. Torben Boye set the record for most appearances for the team during his stay, which lasted from 1983 to 2002.

AaB play their home matches at Nordjyske Arena, formerly known as Aalborg Stadion, which opened in 1960. The stadium underwent renovations in 2002 and is currently able to hold a maximum of 13,997 supporters. The record attendance was set at 21,198 for a match against Kjøbenhavns Boldklub in 1969.

Loading ...