Founded In
Limassol (Lemesós), Cyprus

About AEL

Αthlitiki Enosi Lemesou, often known as AEL or AEL Limassol, was first established back in October 1930. The football team serves as one department of a larger sports club, which also competes in sports like basketball and volleball. Over the years, AEL have been amongst Cyprus' most successful teams, having picked up a number of domestic honours. As the name suggests, the club is located in the city of Limassol.

The club picked up its first league title in 1934, although this title is not counted towards their total haul, as it is classed as unofficial by the country's Football Association. Later in that same year, AEL became a charter member of the Cypriot First Division, ahead of the 1934-35 season, which is considered the first official season in the country's history.

AEL picked up their first official league championship in 1941 and went on to a period of huge success in the mid-1950s, winning additional titles in 1953, 1955 and 1956. In total, the club have been crowned as champions on six occasions, with their other wins coming in 1968 and 2012. Their 2012 success came under the management of Pambos Christodoulou, who was dubbed Pambourinho by supporters, in reference to Jose Mourinho. Furthermore, the team have lifted the Cypriot Cup six times and the Super Cup three times. Their performances in domestic competitions have seen them enter a number of continental tournaments, including the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League, where they have met teams like Real Madrid and Marseille. 

AEL have also traditionally had a strong youth team, and have won the country's under-21 championship on 11 occasions.

The team's home matches are held at Tsirion Stadium, also known as Tsirion Athletic Centre, which opened in 1975. The venue is currently able to hold up to 13,331 supporters.

Loading ...