Founded In
1990 / 2011
Alaškert (Alashkert), Armenia

About Alashkert

Alashkert Football Club was originally established back in 1990, but has since been refounded multiple times. The team, based in the town of Martuni, have spent most of their active history in the lower divisions of the Armanian league system and have so far been unable to establish themselves as a major force, capable of challenging for major honours.

Having played two seasons in the old Armenian SSR League, Alashkert were founding members of the Armenian Premier League, which was established in 1992, after Armenia gained independence from the Soviet Union. Their inaugural season was unsuccessful, however, with the team finishing the campaign bottom of the league table. As a result, they were relegated to the Armenian First League, but disbanded before competing.

The club was revived in 1998, and competed in the Armenian First League, finishing in 6th place. The following year, they did not compete and in 2000, the club closed once again. In 2011, Alashkert was resurrected once more, this time by a Martuni local, Bagrat Navoyan, who currently serves as the club chairman. The team resumed play in the Armenian First League in 2012 and the 2012-13 season brought about the side's greatest success, as they finished top of the division and gained promotion back to the Premier League for the first time since 1992.

Some of the most notable players to have played for the club include Sergey Erzrumyan, Artak Grigoryan and the current club captain, Tsolak Beglaryan.

Despite the club's offices being based in Martuni, Alashkert's home matches are played at Nairi Stadium, which is located in the capital city of Yerevan. The venue was built during the 1960s, but became official club property in February 2013. It is currently able to hold up to 6,800 spectators, although renovations are set to be carried out over the course of the 2013-14 and 2014-15 seasons.

Loading ...