Founded In
Ciudad de México, D.F., Mexico
About América

Club de Fútbol América was first established in October 1916. Commonly referred to as Club América or simply América, the team is amongst the most successful sides in the history of Mexican football. The club's primary rivals are Club Deportivo Guadalajara and the games between the two teams are dubbed El Súper Clásico. Club América is owned by Televisa, the biggest multimedia company in the Spanish speaking world.

The team's golden era took place during the 1980s. Over the course of the decade, América won the league title on five occasions and added two Mexican Super Cups and the 1987 CONCACAF Champions' Cup. The 1990s, by contrast, were an unsuccessful decade for the club, with only one major trophy win, coming in 1990.

Throughout history, the team have enjoyed significant success in both domestic and international competitions. In total, Club América have been crowned Primera División champions on ten occasions, with their first win coming in 1966 and their most recent victory coming in 2005. They have lifted the Copa México five times, with their most recent win in the competition coming in 1974. The team is the most successful team in the CONCACAF region in terms of international competitions. They have won the CONCACAF Champions' Cup five times, the Copa Interamericana twice and the Giants Cup once to take their haul to eight trophies.

The team's Hall of Fame includes names like Alfredo Tena, Luis Roberto Alves and Cristóbal Ortega. Amongst their other notable former players are Hugo Sánchez, Cuauhtémoc Blanco, Claudio López and Christian Benítez.

The Estadio Azteca has served as the home of Club América since its opening in 1966. It remains the only ground on the planet to have hosted two different FIFA World Cup finals, in 1970 and 1986. The stadium is one of the world's largest and is currently able to hold up to 105,064 spectators.   

Loading ...