Founded In
Limassol (Lemesós), Cyprus

About Apollon

Apollon Limassol Football Club was founded in April 1954 as part of a wider athletics association. Often known more simply as Apollon, the team have achieved notable success in both the league and domestic cup competitions and have also represented Cyprus in several UEFA tournaments. The team's main derby matches are played against their cross-town rivals, AEL and Aris.

The club applied for membership to the Cyprus Football Association in 1955 and was placed into the country's second tier later that year. After initially struggling in the division, Apollon were able to gain promotion to the top flight in 1957 and they have remained there ever since.

Apollon picked up their first major honour in 1965-66, lifting the Cypriot Cup. They have since gone on to lift the cup a further six times, with their most recent success coming in 2012-13. Their haul of seven cup wins currently ranks them as the fourth most successful team in the competition's history. However, the team have gone on to win even greater honours, picking up league titles in 1990–91, 1993–94 and 2005–06. Later in 2006, they also went on to lift the Super Cup for the first time. As a result of Apollon's domestic performances, they have competed in the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, the UEFA Europa League and the UEFA Champions League. During their various spells in continental competitions, they have played some of the biggest clubs in the world, including FC Barcelona, Liverpool, Ajax and Lazio.

Some of the notable players to have played for the side throughout history include Panikos Krystallis, Pambos Pittas, Milenko Špoljarić and Giorgos Iosifidis.

Apollon's home matches are held at Tsirion Stadium, also known as Tsirion Athletic Centre and the Olympia Stadium. The venue, which was built in 1975, is currently able to hold 13,331 fans.

Loading ...