Founded In
Limassol (Lemesós), Cyprus

About Aris

Aris Limassol Football Club, usually known more simply as Aris, was founded in the city of Limassol back in 1930. The football team serves as one section of a wider club, which competes in various other sports and activities, including basketball and chess. Historically, the team have been something of a yo-yo club and have struggled to retain their top flight status, primarily due to financial constraints. They are nicknamed 'The Light Brigade'.

The 1988-89 season marked a high-point in the club's history, as they reached the final of the Cypriot Cup. Here, they met one of the other major teams from Limassol, AEL. Unfortunately, after a valiant effort, in which they forced the game into extra time, Aris lost the match 3-2 and finished as competition runners up.

To date, the club have failed to win any of the major honours on offer to them within the country, and their status as a yo-yo club is emphasised by the fact that they have been crowned as champions of the second tier on five seperate occasions. Their highest finish in the top flight came in the 1989-90 season, when they ended the year in 4th place. 

Panikos Hatziloizou and Oleh Blokhin are amongst the most notable players to have played for the club. Panikos Hatziloizou was the Cypriot league's top goalscorer for the 1982-83 season, with 17 goals across the campaign, while Oleh Blokhin was named European Footballer of the Year in 1975, prior to joining the side.

Aris Limassol play their home matches at Tsirion Stadium, which is also known by several other names, including the Olympia Stadium and Tsirion Athletic Centre. The venue has served as the club's home since its opening back in 1975 and also houses their local rivals, AEL and Apollon. Its capacity currently stands at 13,331.

Loading ...