Founded In
London, England

About Arsenal

Arsenal Football Club was formed in 1886 in Woolwich. In 1913 they moved to Highbury Stadium in North London where they remained for 97 years. In 2006, Emirates Stadium was completed and the club moved 500 meters to their new home in Ashburton Grove.

Arsenal has won the League title on 13 occasions, the most recent being 2003/04. The FA Cup has been won 10 times, the last in 2005.

Overall Arsenal has won 27 major trophies including three domestic doubles of League and FA Cup.

In 2003/04 the club remained unbeaten for the entire Premier League season equaling the feat of Preston North End in 1889 and were dubbed ‘The Invincibles’.

Current manager, Arsene Wenger is the longest serving manager in the clubs history and is in his 17th year with the Gunners.

The list of great players to have worn the Gunners shirt is legendary. Alex James and Cliff Bastin in the 30’s. George Graham and Charlie George in the 70’s and then there are the stars of the last two decades. Great names that have turned Arsenal Football Club into a household name.

England captain, Tony Adams, free scoring striker Ian Wright and of course the international players that have made the London side one of the most admired clubs in the world, Thierry Henry, Dennis Bergkamp and lately Robin van Persie.

With a global fanbase measured at over 27 million, the Arsenal brand has grown from strength to strength and is now worth an estimated $1.3 billion. Their traditional rivals are Tottenham Hotspur and the North London derby is one of the most ferocious matches in the Premiership calendar.

Major Honours

  • European Cup Winners Cup:
  • Inter-Cities Fairs Cup (UEFA Cup):
  • First Division Championship (Until 1992) & Premier League:
    1931, 1933, 1934, 1935, 1938, 1948, 1953, 1970, 1989, 1991, 1998, 2002, 2004
  • FA Cup:
    1930, 1936, 1950, 1971, 1979, 1993, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2005
  • League Cup:
    1987, 1993
Loading ...