Founded In
Astana, Kazakhstan

About Astana

Astana Football Club was first established in 2009, after a merger between FC Megasport and FC Alma-Ata. They are, therefore, currently the youngest team to be competing in the Kazakhstan Premier League. Originally operating under the name Lokomotiv Astana, the team adopted its current name in 2011. Despite their youth, the club have already enjoyed significant success at domestic level.

Prior to the merger, FC Alma-Ata were competing in the Premier League and had picked up the Kazakhstan Cup in 2006. Although less successful, FC Megasport were also competing in the top division prior to the merger. As a result of the union, the new side was granted entry straight into the Premier League, where they benefitted from having greater financial resources than the two previous clubs.

It took little time for Astana to make their mark in the country. The 2010 season brought about their first taste of major success, as they collected the Kazakhstan Cup, after beating FC Shakhter in the final. Usually, this would have granted them entry to the following season's UEFA Europa League, but UEFA regulations state that a team cannot be issued with a UEFA license until they had existed for at least three years. In 2011, the team added a second major honour, the Kazakhstan Super Cup, to their collection. Then, in 2012, they lifted the Kazakhstan Cup for the second time, after defeating FC Irtysh in the final. On this occasion, they were granted entry to the qualifying round of the following year's UEFA Europa League.

Some of the most notable players to have worn Astana's jersey include Andrey Tikhonov, Yegor Titov, Maksim Shatskikh and Patrick Ovie.

The team's home games are played at Astana Arena, which opened in 2009. The venue also serves as the home of the Kazakhstan national football team and was built at a cost of $185 million. It is capable of holding up to 30,000 supporters.

Loading ...