Atlético GO

Founded In
Goiânia, Goiás, Brazil

About Atlético GO

Atlético Clube Goianiense, often known as Atlético GO or Atlético Goianiense, was established in 1937 by Joaquim Veiga and Nicanor Gordo. The club is based in Goiânia and is the city's oldest team. They are nicknamed 'The Dragon' or 'Dragão'.

In 1957, the club had arguably its most successful season ever, claiming the Goiás State Championship whilst remaining unbeaten throughout the competition. In addition, Atlético Goianiense also picked up the Torneio dos Invictos. Prior to their promotion back to Série A in 2010, the club spent more than two decades outside of the top flight in Brazil.

State championships have been the main source of success for the club throughout its history. In total, Atlético have won the Campeonato Goiano 12 times. Their most successful periods came during the 1940s and 1950s, with victories in 1944, 1947, 1949, 1955 and 1957. They have also enjoyed a period of success in recent times, winning the championship in 2007, 2010 and 2011. In addition to these state championship wins, the club also lifted the Torneio da Integração Nacional back in 1971 when they beat Ponte Preta and they have twice been crowned champions of Série C, most recently in 2008.

One of the club's most notable players is current club captain and goalkeeper, Márcio, who is well-known for his goal scoring exploits. Márcio, a firm fan favourite, takes both free kicks and penalties for his club and has now reached double figures in terms of league goals.

Historically, Atlético GO have played their home matches at the Estádio Antônio Accioly. However, its small capacity has rendered it surplus to requirements. The club currently plays its home matches at the Estádio Serra Dourada, which has a capacity of 41,574. The ground is also home to the other major clubs in the area, Goiás Esporte Clube and Vila Nova Futebol Clube.    

Loading ...