Atlético Rafaela

Founded In
Rafaela, Provincia de Santa Fe, Argentina

About Atlético Rafaela

Asociación Mutual Social y Deportiva Atlético de Rafaela, often known by the more simple name of Atlético Rafaela, was first established in Rafaela, Santa Fe in January 1907. The football team forms the largest part of a wider sports and social club, which, since 1988, has officially operated as a not-for-profit organisation. 

At the time the decision was made for Atlético Rafaela to become a non-profit sports club, the football team were playing in the third division of the Argentine football league system. A year later, however, the team gained promotion to the second tier, after being Atlético Ledesma in a promotion playoff match. The club would subsequently remain in the second division until after the turn of the 21st century.

Atlético Rafaela won the Apertura tournament in 2002 and followed that up with a Clausura 2003 victory in order to gain promotion to the top flight, the Primera División, for the first time. However, the club was quickly relegated back to the second tier. In the 2010-11 season, the team won the Primera B Nacional and returned to the Primera División once again. Aside from these lower division title victories, the club has struggled to challenge for major national honours. In 2012, they won a friendy summer tournament, called the Copa Ciudad de Rosario, or Rosario City Cup.

Amongst the most notable players to play for the side are prolific goalscorers Cesar Carignano, Claudio Bieler and Raúl González, while Leonardo Di Lorenzo enjoyed a loan spell with the club in 2003 and became the team's record appearance maker in the top flight in the process.

Atlético Rafaela currently play their home games at the Estadio Nuevo Monumental. The venue first opened its doors back in 1954 and is currently able to hold up to 16,000 supporters for the team's matches.

Loading ...