Founded In
Atıraw (Atyrau), Kazakhstan

About Atyrau

Football Club Atyrau was first established in 1980 under the name Prikaspiets. Initially competing in the Soviet Union's football league, the club joined Kazakhstan's league system after the country gained independence in 1992. Since that time, they have climbed up through the divisions and have gone on to occasionally challenge for the country's major trophies. Within Kazakhstan, the team is sometimes known as 'The Oilman'.

At the time when the Kazakhstan Premier League was founded in 1992, Prikaspiets were still operating as a non-league side. In 2000, the club changed its name to Akzhayik and entered the Kazakhstan First Division, where they ended the season in 4th place and gained promotion to the top division for the first time. Then, in 2001, the team took on its currennt name.

In 2009, Atyrau experienced their greatest success to date, as they emerged victorious in the final of the Kazakhstan Cup, after beating Shakhter 1-0. This currently remains their only major honour in either the Soviet Union or Kazakhstan. However, upon entering the Premier League, the side finished as runners up in back-to-back seasons in 2001 and 2002 and finished in 4th place in 2003. Their league finishes and cup win have ensured that they have been entered into the qualifying rounds of the UEFA Europa League on multiple occasions, although they are yet to record a victory in the competition.

The team's list of notable former talents includes the likes of Guram Makaev, Vitaliy Kitsak and Rejepmurat Agabaev. All three players were regular goalscorers during their respective spells with the club.

Atyrau play their home games at Munaishy Stadium, which is sometimes spelled as Munayshy Stadium. The venue has existed since 1954 and is a multi-use stadium, but it is currently able to hold up to 8,660 supporters for football matches.

Loading ...