Bale: I didn't dive
By Football News
Tottenham's Gareth Bale has denied allegations of diving, despite picking up a yellow card for simulation in the 2-1 victory over Liverpool.
The Welshman was instrumental in Spurs' success, putting the opener on a plate for Aaron Lennon before adding the second himself with a sumptuous free kick.
He did, however, put it the ball in his own net in unfortunate circumstances after Lennon's attempted goal-line clearance inadvertently thumped the 23-year-old flush in the face and flew in.
But his performance was once again overshadowed as he received a caution from referee Phil Dowd after being adjudged to have simulated following a challenge from Daniel Agger.
"I thought I got clipped a little bit," he told Sky Sports after the game.
"Sometimes it happens. You have just got to get on with it."
Spurs had previously suffered three successive defeats before the weekend win over West Ham and, following back-to-back victories, Andre Villas-Boas' side now sit fifth in the table above Everton and north London rivals Arsenal.
"We are not too far off [where we want to be]," Bale added.
"There were good results elsewhere for us tonight, which was important.
"We have just got to focus on ourselves, focus on game by game, and I think we are improving in every game."