Football News

Bale, Suarez and Van Persie nominated for PFA award

Created on 19 Apr., 2013 4:16 PM GMT

Gareth Bale, Luis Suarez and Robin van Persie are among the nominees for the PFA Player of the Year award.

The six-man shortlist, announced on Friday, also includes Michael Carrick, Eden Hazard and Juan Mata, but Swansea striker Michu, who has scored 17 goals in his debut Premier League season, misses out.

Welshman Bale, who claimed the honour in 2011, is the favourite to clinch the award after an outstanding season with Tottenham, but faces fierce competition from the league’s top scorer Suarez - who has netted on 22 occasions for Liverpool.

Van Persie, who won last year’s award while at Arsenal, trails Suarez in the scoring charts by one goal but has played a prominent role in Manchester United’s pursuit of a 20th league title along with team-mate Carrick.

Chelsea pair Hazard and Mata, meanwhile, have earned their places thanks to standout performances at Stamford Bridge despite off-field turmoil.

Hazard and Bale have earned further recognition in the form of the nominations for the PFA Young Player of the Year award.

West Brom loanee Romelu Lukaku and Aston Villa striker Christian Benteke complete a trio of Belgian nominees, while England internationals Danny Welbeck and Jack Wilshere are also included.

The winners of both awards will be announced on April 28.

Loading ...