Founded In
Barysaw (Borisov), Belarus

About BATE

Football Club BATE Borisov, usually simplified to BATE, was founded in 1973 and later re-established in 1996. BATE is an acronym, which stands for 'Borisov Works of Automobile and Tractor Electric Equipment'. Based in the city of Borisov, since the end of the Soviet era, the team have emerged as one of the elite teams in Belarusian football, achieving huge levels of success in domestic competitions.

In total, BATE have won the Belarusian Premier League nine times, with those wins coming in 1999, 2002, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012. In 2006 and 2010, they also lifted the Belarusian Cup, completing a league and cup double on both occasions. Additional domestic success has come in the shape of the Belarusian Super Cup, which the team won in 2010, 2011 and 2013.

Further to their domestic success, the club have emerged as the most successful Belarusian side in continental competitions, having compted in both the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League on several occasions. They are currently the only team from the country to have made it to the group stage of both competitions and their Champions League outings have seen them take points off of teams like Juventus, AC Milan and Zenit St. Petersburg.

The club have produced a number of Belarusian international footballers, who have enjoyed successful careers throughout Europe, with examples such as Alexander Hleb, Yuri Zhevnov and Vitali Kutuzov. Other notable former players include Vitali Rodionov, Mateja Kežman and Renan Bressan.

BATE's home matches are played at Haradski Stadium, also known as Borisov City Stadium. The venue, which opened in 1986, is able to hold up to 5,402 people. Due to UEFA regulations, the stadium is unable to host matches beyond the qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League or the playoff round of the UEFA Europa League. As a result, BATE play most of their European matches at the 40,000-seater Dinamo Stadium in Minsk.

Loading ...