Founded In
İstanbul, Turkey

About Beşiktaş

Beşiktaş Jimnastik Kulübü was founded in 1902 in Istanbul. The football team is part of a larger sports club and has historically been one of Turkish football's most successful teams. Beşiktaş maintain rivalries with the other major clubs from the city, Fenerbahçe and Galatasaray.

The late 1980s and early 1990s represent the team's golden era. During the years from 1989 to 1995, Beşiktaş won four Süper Lig titles, three Turkish Cups and three Turkish Super Cups. The haul of trophies included three consecutive league titles, won in 1989–90, 1990–91 and 1991–92. This period of dominance in Turkish football reached its peak in 1991–92, during which Beşiktaş did not lose a single league game over the course of the entire season. Their unbeaten league run would eventually stretch to 48 games in total.

The club has achieved notable success at domestic level over the years. In total, Beşiktaş have won the Süper Lig, or its previous equivalent, on thirteen occasions. The club has also amassed nine Turkish Cups and eight Turkish Super Cups. Prior to the formation of the Süper Lig, the club competed in the Istanbul Football League, which it won thirteen times. Beşiktaş' best performance in European competitions came in the 1986-87 European Cup, where they reached the quarter-final stage.

The team's success in the early 1990s was largely attributed to the attacking abilities of three players: Metin Tekin, Ali Gültiken and Feyyaz Uçar. The three men formed the front three in the club's 4-3-3 formation at the time. The trio were regularly referred to as Metin-Ali-Feyyaz, or MAF for short. They are considered the greatest attacking combination in the club's history and produced an exciting and successful brand of football.

Beşiktaş play their home matches at the Beşiktaş İsmet İnönü Stadium. The ground opened in 1947 and has undergone renovations since the turn of the 21st century. It currently has a maximum capacity of 32,145.   

Loading ...