Beijing Guoan

Founded In
Beijing, China PR

About Beijing Guoan

Beijing Guoan Football Club was established as a professional team in December 1992 as part of a wider reform of Chinese football. However, the roots of the club as a semi-professional side can be traced back to the foundation of Beijing Football Club in 1951.

The team was established by the Beijing Municipal Sports Committee and the CITIC Group, a state-owned investment company. In 2003, the team changed its name to Beijing Hyundai as part of a sponsorship agreement with the car manufacturing company. This agreement expired in 2006 and the team returned to its former name.

The team have emerged as one of China's clubs in recent years, achieving significant success in domestic football. In 1995, they finished the league season as runners up and the following year, Beijing Guoan achieved their first major success as they lifted the Chinese FA Cup. Further FA Cup successes occurred in 1997 and 2003 and both of those years also saw the team lift the Chinese FA Super Cup. The 2007 Super League season saw the club finish as runners up once again. Finally, in 2009, they finished one point ahead of Changchun Yatai and claimed the Super League title for the first time.

A number of Chinese national team players have started their professional careers with Beijing Guoan, with some of the more notable examples including Shao Jiayi, Yang Chen, Huang Bowen and Zhang Xizhe. In 2005, Serbian striker Branko Jelić won the Golden Boot and Super League MVP awards whilst playing for the club.

The team play their home matches at Workers Stadium in Beijing. The stadium was one of ten 'Great Buildings' constructed in 1959 to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the People's Republic of China. The venue underwent renovations in 2004 and hosted football matches during the 2008 Summer Olympic Games. It has a maximum capacity of 66,161.   

Loading ...