Blackburn Rovers

Founded In
Blackburn, Lancashire, England

About Blackburn Rovers

Blackburn Rovers Football Club was formed in November 1875 and the team played their first match in December of the same year. They went on to become founding members of the Football League in 1888 as well as the Premier League in 1992, making them one of just three teams to be founding members of both.

The club has enjoyed two major periods of success during its history; the first stretching from their formation up until 1930 and the second being a brief spell during the 1990s, after the club was bought by Jack Walker and given a significant cash injection. In between those periods of success, the club spent a significant amount of time away from the top flight.

Before 1930, the club racked up an impressive trophy haul of two league titles and six FA Cups. The club was relegated in 1966 and spent 26 seasons away from the top tier before returning in 1992. Blackburn finished as runners up in the 1993-94 season before going one better the following year, trumping Alex Ferguson's Manchester United to the Premier League title in 1994-95. In 2002, they added the League Cup to their list of major honours.

Traditionally their rivalry with Manchester United guarantees a full house at Ewood Park however with relegation in 2011, Burnley Football Club and Bolton Wanderers are the two fixtures that the supporters will be looking forward to until there is promotion back to the top flight.

Legendary former Blackburn Rovers players include Bob Compton, who spent his entire career at the club, making over 500 appearances, Alan Shearer and Chris Sutton, who formed a deadly strike partnership during the club's successful spell in the 1990s and Andy Cole, the second highest goalscorer in the history of the Premier League.

The club has played its home matches at Ewood Park since 1881, at which time the stadium was just a playing field. A year later, the current stadium officially opened. During the early years, Ewood Park held in excess of 70,000 supporters, although the introduction of all-seater stadiums reduced this to its current capacity of 31,154. Ewood Park is longest-standing home stadium of any side in the Premier League or Football League.


First Division/Premier League:
1911–12, 1913–14, 1994–95

FA Cup:
1884, 1885, 1886, 1890, 1891, 1928

League Cup:

Loading ...