Founded In
Dublin, Republic of Ireland

About Bohemians

Bohemian Football Club, often known more simply as Bohemians, was founded in 1890, making them the oldest Irish football team in continuous existence. Throughout their long history, the club have won many trophies and have been one of the most successful teams in the League of Ireland, of which they were a founding member back in 1921. The team have a number of different nicknames, including Bohs and The Gypsies.

The club are a part of two of the most important derby matches in the Republic of Ireland. Their rivalry with Shamrock Rovers is known as the Dublin Derby, and the matches between the two are considered the most important in the country. In addition, they contest the Northside Derby with Shelbourne, which is the league's oldest rivalry and is primarily based on their geographical proximity to one another.

In total, Bohemians have been crowned as Irish league champions on 11 occasions, with their most recent success coming in 2009. They are currently the third most successful team in the league's history, behind Shamrock Rovers and Shelbourne. They have won seven FAI Cups and one IFA Cup, making them one of a small number of teams to have lifted both trophies. In addition, they have picked up three League of Ireland Cups and six League of Ireland Shields. As a result of their domestic successes, the club have been entered into a number of continental competitions. Their finest moment in European football came in 2000, when they overturned a 1-0 deficit to eliminate Aberdeen from the UEFA Cup.

Tommy Kelly holds the club record for most appearances, while Turlough O'Connor is the side's record goalscorer. Other notable former talents include Joseph Whelan and Glen Crowe.

Bohs' home games are held at Dalymount Park, which is also known as Páirc Cnocán Uí Dhálaigh. Nicknamed 'Dayler' by supporters, the venue opened in 1901 and was renovated in 1999. It can currently hold up to 4,300 supporters.

Loading ...