Bray Wanderers

Founded In
Bray, Republic of Ireland

About Bray Wanderers

Bray Wanderers Association Football Club was founded in 1942 and have been a member of the League of Ireland since 1985. Based in the town of Bray, in County Wicklow, the team are nicknamed The Seagulls and have enjoyed some occasional success in domestic football. However, throughout history, they have also spent a significant amount of time outside of the country's top division and have a relatively small fanbase.

Although the club was established in its current form in 1942, Bray Wanderers' history can be traced all the way back to 1922, when a breakaway faction of a Gaelic football team known as St Kevin's formed the original Bray Wanderers. However, that club folded in the mid-1930s. After playing at a lower level for several decades, Bray were invited into the League of Ireland in 1985, when the league expanded to two divisions.

The team's first taste of major success came in 1990, when they defeated St. Francis 3-0 in the final of the FAI Cup. Bray Wanderers went on to lift the cup for a second time in 1999, this time after overcoming Finn Harps in the final. As a result of their 1990 win, the club were entered into the following season's UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, while their 1999 success gained the team entry into the UEFA Cup. To date, The Seagulls have never won the Irish league title and have suffered relegation to the League of Ireland First Division on several occasions.

Jason Byrne is the team's record goalscorer in league football, while other notable former players include names like John Ryan and Eamon Zayed.

Wanderers' home matches are played at the Carlisle Grounds, which is also known as the Field of Dreams. The venue has been in use since 1862, making it the oldest League of Ireland stadium. It currently has a seated capacity of 3,185, but can hold a maximum of 7,000 spectators.

Loading ...