Founded In
Kópavogur, Iceland

About Breidablik

Breiðablik Ungmennafélag, often known by the simplified names Breidablik or UBK, was first established in April 1950. Nicknamed Blikar, the team are based out of the city of Kópavogur and operate under the name UBK Kopavogur in UEFA competitions. Throughout history, they have spent significant time in Iceland's lower divisions, but have been able to establish themselves in the Úrvalsdeild and achieve huge levels of success in more recent times.

After spending the duration of the 1950s and 1960s in the lower tiers, Breidablik were able to gain promotion to the top tier for the first time ahead of the 1971 campaign. They were relegated at the end of 1973 and spent the next few decades bouncing between 1. deild and the Úrvalsdeild. In 1996, they finished as runners up in the Icelandic League Cup.

In 2005, Breidablik once again finished as champions of the second tier and gained promotion to the Úrvalsdeild. Since that time, the club have gone on to challenge for major honours on a consistent basis. In 2009, they reached the final of the Icelandic Cup, where they were able to beat Fram via a penalty shootout to lift the trophy. The following year brought about even greater levels of success, as Breidablik were crowned as Icelandic champions for the first time in history. In 2012, they finished as league runners up, while in 2013, they were able to lift the Icelandic League Cup.

Guðmundur Þórðarson is the club's record goalscorer, while Arnar Grétarsson holds the appearance record. Other notable former talents include Alfreð Finnbogason, who was named as Úrvalsdeild Player of the Year in 2010, and Sigurður Grétarsson, who enjoyed two seperate spells with Breidablik.

The team's home games are held at Kópavogsvöllur, which opened in 1975. The stadium underwent an expansion process in 2009 and can now hold 5,501 spectators, with 1,869 seated spaces.

Loading ...