Founded In
Bursa, Turkey

About Bursaspor

Bursaspor Kulübü Derneği was first established in Bursa back in June 1963. The club has risen to prominence in recent seasons, challenging the dominance of the traditional Istanbul-based 'big three' clubs - Galatasaray, Fenerbahçe and Beşiktaş.

In the 2009-10 season, under the management of Ertuğrul Sağlam, Bursaspor were crowned Süper Lig champions for the first time in the club's history. The club went into the final round of matches one point behind Fenerbahçe and knowing they needed to better Fenerbahçe's result. After Fenerbahçe were held to a draw by Trabzonspor, Bursaspor defeated Beşiktaş 2-1 to take the title by a single point. In doing so, they became only the second club from outside of Istanbul to win the league title and only the fifth team to ever win the Süper Lig.

In addition to their Süper Lig crown, the club has also lifted the Turkish Cup on one occasion, back in the 1986-87 season. In the final of the competition, they beat Altay S.K. 2-0. Their league title win in 2009-10 gained the club entry into the following season's UEFA Champions League, which marked their first time in the competition. Unfortunately, they went out in the group stage. The team's best performance in a European competition came in the 1974-75 edition of the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, where they reached the quarter-finals. Since winning the title in 2010, the club has emerged as one of Turkey's biggest teams, regularly finishing near the top of the table.

Players like Ömer Erdoğan and Ozan İpek played a large role in the team's title winning season, while in recent seasons the club has been able to attract British international players like Kenny Miller and Scott Carson.

Bursaspor play their home games at the Bursa Atatürk Stadium, which first opened in 1979. The ground is currently able to hold a maximum of 25,213 spectators.   

Loading ...