Football News

Cape Verde defy Cameroon challenge

Created on 15 Oct., 2012 1:17 PM GMT

Cape Verde held on against Cameroon to make their first African Cup of Nations as Ethiopia qualified for the first time in 30 years.

Star striker Samuel Eto'o may have been back in the side but Cameroon still failed to make the finals for the African Cup of Nations despite beating Cape Verde 2-1.

The Cameroonians needed to overcome a 2-0 scoreline from their first encounter with the island nation, but produced a nervy opening to the match in Yaounde on Sunday evening, allowing Portuguese-based striker Heldon to give Cape Verde the lead and extend the aggregate advantage.

Achille Emana pulled one back for Cameroon while Eto'o set up a goal for 16-year-old debutant Fabrice Olinga but it was not enough as Cape Verde, a nation of just 500,000 people, produced one of the great shocks in tournament history.

Ethiopia, meanwhile, qualified for their first finals since 1982, beating Sudan 2-0 to advance on away goals, while Niger stunned Guinea with a 2-0 win in Niamey.

Burkina Faso needed a stoppage-time goal from Alain Traore to secure a 3-1 win over Central African Republic, narrowly avoiding an away-goals loss.

Emmanuel Adebayor got the decisive goal for Togo as they beat Gabon 3-2, while former Manchester United striker Manucho was Angola's hero, scoring twice as they overcame Zimbabwe 2-0.

DR Congo lost 2-1 in Equatorial Guinea originally, but advanced comfortably 5-2 on aggregate, while Algeria defeated north African rivals Libya 2-0 to secure a 3-0 overall victory.

Ghana, Mali, Morocco, Nigeria, Tunisia, and defending champions Zambia, all secured qualification on Saturday.

Cote d'Ivoire are likely join the rest of the squads after their match in Senegal was abandoned due to severe crowd trouble, but the Confederation of African Football is still to speak on the matter.

With the qualifiers now complete, the finalists are as follows: South Africa, Zambia, DR Congo, Ethiopia, Nigeria, Niger, Ghana, Mali, Togo, Burkina Faso, Angola, Cape Verde, Algeria, Morocco and Tunisia.

Loading ...