Cerezo Osaka

Founded In
1957 / 1993
Ōsaka (Osaka), Japan

About Cerezo Osaka

Cerezo Osaka was founded in 1957 as the company football team of Yanmar. Originally known as Yanmar Diesel, the club took on its current name in 1993. 'Cerezo' translates to 'cherry tree', as cherry trees are strongly associated with the city of Osaka. The team are currently affiliated with Bangkok Glass FC, a club who compete in the Thai Premier League. Their main local rivals are the other major team from the city, Gamba Osaka.

During Japan's amateur era, the team were a founding member of the Japan Soccer League and became a major force in the division. Indeed, by 1980, they had amassed four league titles, two JLS Cup wins and three Emporer's Cups.

To date, success in the professional era has been much harder for the team to achieve. In the 2001 and 2003 seasons, they made it to the final of the Emporer's Cup, but were beaten on both occasions. Cerezo Osaka also came extremely close to winning the J-League for the first time in 2005. Going into the last round of matches, they led the league table and in their final match, against FC Tokyo, they also took the lead. With just a few minutes remaining, FC Tokyo equalised and the results in other games meant that Cerezo ended up all the way down in 5th place.

Amongst the side's most notable former players are Japanese internationals Hiroaki Morishima and Akinori Nishizawa, as well as the South Korean international, Ha Seok-Ju. All three players represented their respective national teams at the FIFA World Cup.

Nagai Ball Gall Field, currently known as Kincho Stadium, has served as Cerezo Osaka's home since 2010. The venue also hosts a variety of other sports, including American football and rugby union. Renovations have been carried out several times in recent years and the stadium is able to hold a maximum of 20,500 spectators.

Loading ...