Club Brugge

Founded In
Brugge, Belgium

About Club Brugge

Club Brugge Koninklijke Voetbalvereniging was first established in 1890 by a group of school students from the city, but was reformed the following year. As a result, 1981 is usually given as the club's foundation date. Historically, Club Brugge have been one of Belgium's most popular and most successful teams. Their biggest rivals are Anderlecht, while their local rivals are Cercle Brugge.

The 1970s are usually viewed to be the club's golden era and Club Brugge won the Belgian First Division in 1972–73, 1975–76, 1976–77, 1977–78 and 1979–80, as well as two Belgian Cups during the course of the decade. In addition to these domestic honours, the team also reached the final of both the UEFA Cup and the European Cup in 1976 and 1978 respectively. On both occasions, they lost to Liverpool. However, they remain the only Belgian club to have reached the final of the European Cup.

In total, Club Brugge have been crowned Belgian champions on thirteen occasions, meaning only Anderlecht have enjoyed more success in the competition. In addition, they have finished as runners up on twenty occasions, further cementing their position as the Belgium's second club. They have lifted the Belgian Cup ten times, which includes three wins since the turn of the 21st Century and have been Belgian Super Cup winners thirteen times. Despite their two European final appearances, to date, the team have failed to win a major continental competition.

The club's list of notable former players includes names like Raoul Lambert, Julien Cools, Fons Bastijns, René Vandereycken, Jan Ceulemans, Frank Farina and Mario Stanić.

The team play their home games at the Jan Breydel Stadium, formerly known as the Olympiastadion. The ground is shared with Cercle Brugge and was expanded ahead of the European Championships in 2000, which was hosted by Belgium and the Netherlands. At present, the stadium's maximum capacity is 29,472.   

Loading ...