Kim Tate

CONCACAF Announces 2013 Gold Cup Schedule, USA in Group with Belize, Costa Rica and Cuba

Created on 13 Mar., 2013 5:20 PM GMT

The 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup Schedule was announced today ahead of the press conference held in Chicago IL, where the final Championship game will be held at Soldier Field on Sunday, July 28th.

The USA will play in Group C against Belize, Cuba and Costa Rica during the group stage of this Summer's Gold Cup. Their games will be held, respectively, at Jeld -Wen Field in Portland OR, Rio Tinto Stadium in Santy UT, and Rentschler Field in East Hartford CT.

The first quarterfinal will be held at The Georgia Dome in Atlanta, GA on July 20th, and the second on July 21 at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore. Two semifinal games will take place on July 24th at Cowboys' Stadium in Arlington, TX.

A first place finish in the group stages for the US Men would mean they would face the third place winner of Group A or B in Baltimore. If they finish second, they'll face the first place winner of Group B, and a third place finish means they'll face the first place winner of Group A. (presumably Mexico, anyone?)

With a third place finish in their group being unlikely (but knock on wood), that means a USA - Mexico clash won't be likely until the Final, in what could be a rematch - and for USA fans, hopefully not a repeat - of the 4-2 loss to Mexico in the 2011 Gold Cup Final.

Games will be broadcast on FOX Soccer in English, and the Univision family of channels holds the Spanish rights.

The schedules for group stages and knockout rounds is as follows:

Group A (Mexico, Canada, Panama, Martinique)

Sunday, July 7: Canada vs. Martinique (5:30 p.m.) and Mexico vs. Panama (8:00 p.m.)  Rose Bowl, Pasadena, Calif.
Thursday, July 11: Panama vs. Martinique (8:30 p.m.) and Mexico vs. Canada (11:00 p.m.)  CenturyLink Field, Seattle, Wash.
Sunday, July 14: Martinique vs. Mexico (4:00 p.m.) and Panama vs. Canada (6:30 p.m.) aSports Authority Field at Mile High, Denver, Colo.

Group B (El Salvador, Trinidad & Tobago, Haiti, Honduras)

Monday, July 8: El Salvador vs. Trinidad and Tobago (7:00 p.m.) and Haiti vs. Honduras (9:30 p.m.)  Red Bull Arena, Harrison, N.J.
Friday, July 12: Trinidad and Tobago vs. Haiti (7:00 p.m.) and Honduras vs. El Salvador (9:30 p.m.) Sun Life Stadium, Miami Gardens, Fla.
Monday, July 15: El Salvador vs. Haiti (7:00 p.m.) and Honduras vs. Trinidad & Tobago (9:30 p.m.) BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston, Texas

Group C (Costa Rica, Cuba, Belize, United States)

Tuesday, July 9: Costa Rica vs. Cuba (8:30 p.m.) and Belize vs. United States (11:00 p.m.) JELD-WEN Field, Portland, Ore.
Saturday, July 13: United States vs. Cuba (4:00 p.m.) and Costa Rica vs. Belize (6:30 p.m.) Rio Tinto Stadium, Sandy, Utah
Tuesday, July 16: Cuba vs. Belize (5:30 p.m.) and United States vs. Costa RIca (8:00 p.m.) Rentschler Field, East Hartford, Conn.


Saturday, July 20: A2 vs. B2 (3:00 p.m.) and A1 vs. B3 or C3 (6:00 p.m.)  Georgia Dome, Atlanta, Ga.
Sunday, July 21: B1 vs. C2 (4:00 p.m.) and C1 vs. A3 or B3 (7:00 p.m.) M&T Bank Stadium, Baltimore, Md.


Wednesday, July 24: Winner of Quarterfinal 3 vs. Winner of Quarterfinal 4 (7:00 p.m.) and Winner of Quarterfinal 1 vs. Winner of Quarterfinal 2 (10:00 p.m.) at Cowboys Stadium, Arlington, Texas

Championship Game

Sunday, July 28: Winner of Semifinal 1 vs. Winner of Semifinal 2 (4:00 p.m.) at Soldier Field, Chicago, Ill.

Loading ...