Cruz Azul

Founded In
Ciudad de México (D.F.), Mexico

About Cruz Azul

Cruz Azul Futbol Club was first established in May 1927. The club rank amongst the most successful in Mexican football and are the third most popular in the country in terms of total number of supporters. Cruz Azul's biggest rivals include Club América, with whom they contest the Clásico Joven, and Pumas UNAM, who are rivals based on geographic location.

The team has enjoyed significant success in international tournaments, which started with back-to-back CONCACAF Champions' Cup wins in 1969, 1970 and 1971. The club further established itself as a major force in these competitions by reaching the final of the Copa Interamericana the following year, in 1972. Two more CONCACAF Champions' Cup triumphs occured in 1996 and 1997 before Cruz Azul made history in 2001, by becoming the first team from Mexico to ever reach the Copa Libertadores final. After putting up a valiant fight, the team were eventually beaten by Boca Juniors.

In total, the club have won the Primera División on eight occasions, making them the fourth most successful team in the competition's history, behind Club América, Toluca and Guadalajara. Most of these title wins occured in the 1970s, which is seen as the club's golden era. In addition, the side have lifted the Copa México three times, with their most recent win coming in 2013, after beating Atlante on penalties.

Carlos Hermosillo currently holds the club record for most goals scored for the club, while some of the team's other notable former players include names like Horacio López Salgado, César Delgado and Francisco Palencia.

Cruz Azul moved to the Estadio Azul in 1996 and it has served as the club's home ever since. The stadium is notable for the fact that its playing surface is below ground level. At present, the ground is able to hold a maximum of 35,161 spectators for the team's matches.   

Loading ...