Dalian Yifang

Founded In
Dalian, China PR

About Dalian Yifang

Dalian Aerbin Football Club was founded in 2009 by the Dalian Aerbin Group. Nicknamed the Blue Hawks, the team started life at the bottom of the country's professional football system and has completed a dramatic ascent through the divisions to reach the Chinese Super League. Legendary Chinese footballer, Li Ming, serves as the club's chairman.

The team's climb to the Super League started in their first competitive season in 2010, where they won China League Two, the third tier in Chinese football, gaining promotion to China League One in the process. They followed that success with another league title win in 2011 in order to reach the Super League for the first time. In 2012, Dalian Aerbin completed their first Super League season, finishing the campaign in an impressive 5th place. That year, they also completed the purchase of their local rivals, Dalian Shide FC. Historically, Dalian Shide had been China's most successful team, but they had debts of over ¥300 million, which the Aerbin Group took responsibility for.

Despite their rapid rise to prominence, to date, the team's second and third tier league title victories remain their only major honours. Their best performance in the Chinese FA Cup came in 2012, where they reached the quarter final stage.

Former Barcelona midfielder Seydou Keita joined the team in 2012 and is by far the best-known player to have represented Dalian Aerbin. He currently serves as the club captain. Other high-profile signings like Nigerian international Peter Utaka and Brazilian Fábio Rochemback also joined the club in 2012. Some of the side's most notable former players include Yang Lin, Chang Lin and Guo Hui.

The Jinzhou Stadium in Dalian currently serves as the team's home ground. The venue was initially opened in 1997 and is able to hold a maximum of 30,775 supporters.   

Loading ...