Founded In
Montevideo, Uruguay

About Danubio

Danubio Fútbol Club was initially set up in March 1932 by two Bulgarian immigrants, Juan Lazaroff and Miguel Lazaroff, in conjunction with a local school based in Montevideo. The team takes its name from the Danube, a river which passes through Bulgaria and several other European countries. In recent times, they have been one of Uruguay's most successful sides, winning several major honours and producing a number of talented players.

For much of its early years, the team played in the lower divisions of the Uruguayan league system. In 1943, they were crowned as champions of the country's third tier, the Tercera División. Then, in the 1945, 1960 and 1970 seasons, Danubio finished top of the Segunda División, Uruguay's second tier.

Over recent decades, the club has established itself as a major force, occasionally challenging for the major honours. In 1988, under the management of Ildo Maneiro, Danubio won the Uruguayan Primera División for the first time in history. In the years that followed, the club were one of the few that were able to challenge the dominance of Peñarol and Nacional, with Danubio winning two additional league titles in 2004 and 2007. Furthermore, the team have represented their country in the Copa Libertadores several times, with their best performance coming in 1989, when they reached the semi-finals.

A number of well-known players have played for the club throughout history, including Edinson Cavani, Álvaro Recoba, Fabián Carini and Marcelo Zalayeta. Diego Perrone currently holds the side's all-time goalscoring record, with 72 goals. In addition, names like Diego Forlán and Nery Castillo came through Danubio's youth academy, before moving on to achieve success with other teams at professional level.

Danubio play their home games at Jardines Del Hipódromo, which opened in 1957. The venue was renovated in 1997 and is currently able to seat approximately 18,000 fans.

Loading ...