Deportivo Carapeguá

Carapeguá, Paraguay

Deportivo Carapeguá

About Deportivo Carapeguá

Club Sportivo Carapeguá, formerly known as Deportivo Carapeguá, was first established in September 2010 as a union of clubs from the Carapagüeña League. It is the youngest club currently competing in the top flight of Paraguayan football. The team have made a dramatic climb through the country's league pyramid, culminating in their promotion to the Primera División at the end of the 2011 season. They are nicknamed 'El Potro', which translates to 'The Colt'.

Although founded in late 2010, the team's history can be traced back further, to the 2010 edition of the Torneo Pre-Intermedia. In this tournament, the combined Carapagüeña League team was victorious over other regional-based teams. This combined team went on to become Deportivo Carapeguá, who were then granted entry to the lower tiers of the main Paraguayan league system.

Upon entering the main league pyramid, Carapeguá hit the ground running, competing near the top of the División Intermedia. The team experienced its greatest success at the conclusion of the 2011 season, when they finished as División Intermedia runners up. As a result of their high finish in the league, they gained promotion to the top flight for the first time. In their first season in the Primera División, the team finished 10th in the Torneo Apertura, 8th in the Torneo Clausura and 9th in the aggregate league table.

Marco Prieto scored the club's first ever goal, while Eduardo Echeverria was Deportivo Carapeguá's first ever goalscorer in the Primera División. Some of the other notable players to have represented the team include names like Ruben Maldonado and Jorge Ayala.

The team's home matches are staged at the Estadio Municipal de Carapeguá, which opened in July 2012, in time for use in the 2012 Torneo Clausura. The venue is able to hold a maximum of 9,000 spectators.