Dinamo Zagreb

Founded In
Zagreb, Croatia

About Dinamo Zagreb

Građanski Nogometni Klub Dinamo Zagreb, usually known as Dinamo Zagreb, was established in June 1945, after the previous clubs from the city were closed by the communist government at the end of the Second World War. The team have gone on to become the most successful team in Croatia, achieving huge success at domestic level. Their main rivals are Hajduk Split, with the two teams contesting what has become known as the Eternal Derby.

The club has undergone several name changes over the years. Initially operating as FD Dinamo, in 1991, the club declared itself a direct descendant of former Zagreb-based clubs HAŠK and Građanski Zagreb. As a result, FD Dinamo took on the name HAŠK Građanski. In 1993, the team became known as Croatia Zagreb before adopting the Dinamo Zagreb name in 2000. From 2011 onwards, the club once again claimed direct lineage to Građanski Zagreb and added the current prefix to the team's name.

Prior to competing in the Croatian league system, Dinamo Zagreb participated in the Yugoslav First League, which they won in 1948, 1954, 1958 and 1982. Since the formation of the Prva HNL, Croatia's top division, the club have won fifteen league titles; more than any other Croatian side. In addition, Dinamo Zagreb hold the record for most Croatian Cup wins, having lifted the trophy on twelve occasions. On seven occasions, the team have won the league and cup in the same season. The club have also enjoyed some success in continental competitions, winning the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup in 1967 and the Balkans Cup in 1976.

Amongst the notable players to have represented Dinamo Zagreb are Croatian internationals Luka Modrić, Igor Bišćan, Vedran Ćorluka, Eduardo da Silva and Niko Kranjčar.

The team play their home matches at Stadion Maksimir, which first opened in 1912 and underwent an expansion in 1997. Further renovations took place in 2011 and the stadium is now able to hold a maximum of 35,000 spectators.

Loading ...