Founded In
Stockholm, Sweden

About Djurgården

Djurgårdens Idrottsförening, more commonly referred to as Djurgården, was founded in Stockholm as a sports club in March 1891, with the football department coming into full-time existence in 1899. The team's main rivals are AIK, with whom they contest the Tvillingderbyt, or 'twin derby'. This name is a reference to the fact that the two clubs were both formed in the same year. Historically, the rivalry between the two sides has been incredibly even.

The club has had three seperate golden eras, the first coming from 1910 to 1920, the second spanning from the mid 1950s to the late 1960s and the third coming in the early part of the 2000s. All eleven of the team's Swedish championships have fallen within these three eras, with the 1910-1920 era bringing four title wins. Those wins came prior to the Swedish championship being decided by the Allsvenskan.

In total, Djurgården have won the Allsvenskan seven times. This success in the domestic league leaves them ranked joint 4th in terms of total Swedish league title wins. They have also been runners up in the top division a further three times. The team have lifted the Svenska Cupen four times, with three of those wins occuring since the turn of the 21st century. 

Gösta Sandberg holds the club record for most goals scored in the top flight, while Sven Lindman has made more appearances than any other player. Some of the other notable footballers to wear the Djurgården jersey over the years include Hans Mild, Tommy Berggren, Ronney Pettersson and Stefan Rehn.

Djurgården currently play their home matches at the Stockholm Olympic Stadium, commonly known as Stockholms Stadion. The venue first opened in 1912 for use in that year's Olympic Games and is able to hold a maximum of 14,500 supporters. In the summer of 2013, the club is due to relocate to the new Tele2 Arena, which will have a capacity of 30,000.

Loading ...