Founded In
Lárnaka (Larnaca), Cyprus

About Ermis

Ermis Aradippou Football Club, often known more simply as Ermis, was first established in 1958. Based out of the municipality of Aradippou, the team have spent most of their history in the lower divisions of the Cypriot league system, but have risen to greater prominence within the country over recent decades, due to their appearances in the top division.

The club's early years were spent in the lower divisions and Ermis enjoyed their first period of relative success during the 1980s. In 1983, the team gained promotion to the Cypriot First Division for the first time and although their initial stay lasted just one season, they would return to the top flight two more times before the end of the decade.

While the team have been unable to win any of the major honours on offer to them within Cyprus, they have been crowned as champions of the country's second tier on three occasions, with those league title wins coming in 1982–83, 1984–85 and 2008–09. Ermis finished in ninth place in the First Division in 2009-10, which marked the first time they had managed to survive relegation from the top tier. Eventually, they were relegated at the conclusion of the 2011-12 campaign. However, in 2012-13, they finished third in the Second Division, which was enough to ensure automatic promotion back to the top flight.

Amongst the most notable players to have played for the club are Andreas Papathanasiou and Joeano. Papathanasiou is a former Cyprus international, who has had several spells with the club, while Joeano was the First Division golden boot winner for 2009-10.

Since 2010, Ermis have played their home matches at Ammochostos Stadium in Larnaca. The venue, which also houses Nea Salamis FC, opened its doors for the first time back in 1991 and underwent a major renovation process in 1998. Today, the stadium is able to hold up to 5,500 supporters.

Loading ...