Founded In
La Plata, Provincia de Buenos Aires, Argentina

About Estudiantes

Club Estudiantes de La Plata, usually known as Estudiantes, was first established in August 1905. For most of its history, the team has competed in Argentina's top flight, the Primera Divisióna and has a track record of success both in domestic and international competitions. Estudiantes' biggest rivals are Gimnasia de La Plata. The rivalry started when several Gimnasia de La Plata supporters and players left to form Estudiantes. Matches between the teams are called the Clásico de La Plata.

The club won its first league title in 1913, prior to the professionalisation of Argentine football. Then, in 1967, Estudiantes made history by becoming the first team outside of the so-called 'Big Five' clubs to win a league title in the professional era. 

Since that title win, Estudiantes have enjoyed further domestic success, winning Primera División championships in the 1982 Metropolitano, 1983 Nacional, 2006 Apertura and 2010 Apertura competitions. However, most of their success has come in international tournaments. In 1968, the club beat Palmeiras to win the Copa Libertadores and then defeated Manchester United to claim the Intercontinental Cup. In 1969, the team lifted the Interamerican Cup and further Copa Libertadores successes followed in 1969 and 1970. In 2009, Estudiantes won a fourth Copa Libertadores title, after beating Cruzeiro in the final.

Over the years, a number of well-known players have represented Estudiantes. During the 1930s, Manuel Ferreira, Miguel Ángel Lauri, Alberto Zozaya, Alejandro Scopelli and Enrique Guaita formed an attack known as 'Los Profesores'. Other notable former players include Hugo Gottardi, José Luis Brown, Juan Sebastián Verón and Martín Palermo. Even after leaving the club, Juan Sebastián Verón contributed financially to the development of Estudiantes' training facilities.

The team play their home games at the Estadio Ciudad de La Plata, which opened in 2003. The stadium underwent renovations in 2011 to convert it into an all-seater venue. It is currently able to hold a maximum of 36,000 spectators.

Loading ...