Founded In
Florianópolis, Santa Catarina, Brazil

About Figueirense

Figueirense Futebol Clube was first established in June 1921. Based in Florianópolis, the club competes in the Campeonato Catarinense and in Série A. Since the 1980s, the club has spent a significant amount of time in the second tier of Brazilian football, even occasionally falling as far as Série C. They are nicknamed Figueira or 'The Fig Tree'.

Although major success on a national level has alluded Figueirense, they came close in 2007. Having defeated teams including Botafogo and Náutico on route, they reached the final of the Copa do Brasil, where they met Fluminense. After drawing the first leg 1-1, they eventually lost the second leg 1-0 to finish as runners up in the competition.

The club has enjoyed significant success at state level, winning the Campeonato Catarinense on 15 occasions. The 1930s brought about the club's first period of sustained success, with state championship wins coming in 1932, 1935, 1936, 1937 and 1939. The decade from 2000-2009 is seen as a second golden decade, with championship wins in 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006 and 2008. In 1990 and 1996 the club lifted the Copa Santa Catarina and 1995 they won their first ever international competition, when they emerged victorious in the Torneio Mercosul. Figueirense's youth team have also enjoyed success, with their under-19 side lifting the Copa São Paulo de Juniores in 2008.

Throughout the club's history, several well-known Brazilian international footballers have represented Figueirense, including Edmundo, Valdo Filho, Michel Bastos and André Santos.

Figueirense play their home matches at the Estádio Orlando Scarpelli, which has served the club since its inauguration in 1961. The stadium has undergone several transformations over the years, including the implementation of all-seater stands. The ground's maximum capacity is 19,908 and its record attendance was set back in 1973, when 16,842 watched a match against Vasco da Gama.   

Loading ...