Founded In
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

About Flamengo

Clube de Regatas do Flamengo was founded as a sports club in 1895, although the football team was not formed until 1911 and the club's first match did not take place until the following year. Flamengo are one of the few Brazilian clubs to have never suffered relegation from the top flight. The club's biggest rivals are Fluminense FC and Vasco da Gama.

The late 1970s and early 1980s are generally regarded as the club's golden era. Flamego won the Brazilian Série A in 1980, 1982 and 1983 and was successful in the Campeonato Carioca in 1978, 1979 and 1981. The 1981 season also saw the club achieve international success, winning both the Copa Libertadores and the Intercontinental Cup, beating Cobreloa and Liverpool respectively in the finals of those competitions.

In total, Flamengo have won the Campeonato Carioca thirty-two times, Série A six times, the Copa do Brasil twice and the Copa dos Campeões once. In addition to their victoies in the Copa Libertadores and Intercontinental Cup, Flamengo have also won the Copa Mercosur and the Copa de Oro.

Legendary players to play for Flamango include Zico, one of the world's best ever players; Leandro, a former Brazilian international and Renato Abreu, who was instrumental in the club's Campeonato Carioca victories in 2007 and 2011. In January 2011, former World Player of the Year, Ronaldinho, joined the club from AC Milan, although his stay at Flamengo was problematic and ended with the player filing a lawsuit against the club for non-payment.

Officially, Flamengo's stadium is the 8,000-seater Gávea Stadium, but it is now mostly used as a training facility due to its small capacity. The Estádio do Maracanã, which has a capacity in excess of 80,000, is now considered to be the club's home, although it is currently undergoing renovations ahead of the 2014 FIFA World Cup. As a result, the club is currently using the Estádio Olímpico João Havelange, which has a capacity of 46,931.   

Loading ...