Founded In
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

About Fluminense

Fluminense Football Club was founded in July 1902. The club is notable for the fact that it won the Campeonato Carioca more than any other side in the twentieth century. Over the years, the club has also contributed a large number of players to the Brazilian national team. Fluminense maintain a rivalry with Flamengo, which is sometimes known as Fla-Flu.

During the late 1990s, Fluminense suffered a period of some turmoil on the field. In 1996, the club was relegated from Série A, but remained in the top division due to off the field politics. The following season, however, the club was relegated once again. This time, the club did drop down a division and in 1998, Fluminense fell all the way to the third tier. Again, off the field politics came in play and the club was soon invited back to the top flight, where it has stayed.

Domestically, the club has won the Campeonato Carioca thirty-one times, Série A four times, the Guanabara Trophy nine times and the Copa do Brasil once. On the international scene, the club won the Copa Rio in 1952 and in 1949, the International Olympic Committee awarded them the Olympic Cup. To this day, Fluminense remain the only football club on the planet to have been awarded this honour.

Some of the more notable footballers to have represented the club over the years include: Rivellino, Edinho, Renato Gaúcho, Ricardo Gomes, Fred, Marcelo, Deco and Thiago Silva.

Traditionally, the club has played its matches at the Estádio do Maracanã, which is currently being renovated for use in the 2014 FIFA World Cup and the 2016 Olympic Games. The club's record attendance at the Estádio do Maracanã was 194,603, set in 1963. Whilst the stadium is being renovated, the club are playing home matches at the Estádio Olímpico João Havelange, which has a total capacity of 46,931.   

Loading ...