Founded In
Getafe (Madrid), Spain

About Getafe

Originally founded in 1946, Getafe Club de Fútbol was liquidated at the end of the 1981-82 season, having suffered severe financial problems after relegation from the Segunda División. In 1982, two other clubs, Club Deportivo Peña Getafe and Club Getafe Promesas, merged together and took on the name Getafe CF.

From 1983-84, the club achieved four consecutive promotions and made it into the Segunda División in 1994-95. By 1997, the club's fortunes had turned once again and Getafe were almost relegated back to the fourth tier of Spanish football.

The 2003-04 season would be one of the most successful and important in the club's history, with Getafe's Segunda División campaign earning them promotion to La Liga for the first time. In doing so, Getafe completed a full ascent of the Spanish league system within twenty years of formation. In 2006-07, the club reached the Copa del Rey final after an amazing cup run, which included overturning a 5-2 first leg loss to Barcelona in the semi final by winning the 2nd leg 4-0. Although they would lose the final 1-0 to Sevilla, the runners up position earned Getafe qualification for the 2007-08 UEFA Cup. The following season, the club reached the Copa del Rey final once again, this time losing 3-1 to Valencia.

Noteable Getafe players from the past include Roberto Abbondanzieri, who won the Zamora Trophy in 2006-07; Sergio Pachón, who scored all 5 goals in the club's 5-3 victory over Tenerife, securing promotion to La Liga; David Belenguer, who played a vital role in the club's promotion to La Liga and subsequent survival in the top flight and Esteban Granero, who spent two seasons at the club from 2007-2009.

The club plays home matches at the Estadio Coliseum Alfonso Pérez, a ground built in 1998 with a total capacity of 18,000. 

Loading ...