Founded In
Halmstad, Sweden

About Halmstad

Halmstads Bollklubb, usually known as Halmstad and sometimes referred to as HBK, was first established in 1914 and joined the Swedish Sports Confederation the same year. They have become one of the country's best-known clubs, competing in various continental competitions and achieving success domestically. Historically, their main local rivals have been IS Halmia.

The club's golden era came in the 1970s, under the management of Roy Hodgson. During this time, Halmstad pulled off one of the most surprising feats in the history of Swedish football, by winning the league championship in 1976. The previous year had seen the club fighting relegation and they only survived the drop as a result of their goal difference. Prior to the 1976 campaign, most pundits tipped them to be relegated this time round, but instead, Hodgson's team saw off competition from Malmö FF to lift their first title. A second league success for Hodgson followed in 1979.

Altogether, Halmstad have been crowned Swedish champions on four occasions, with their other two victories coming in the 1997 and 2000 seasons. They were also runners up in the division in 1955 and 2004. Other domestic success has come in the shape of the Svenska Cupen, which they won in 1995, beating AIK in the final. In contintental competitions, Halmstad won the UEFA Intertoto Cup in 1977, 1980 and 1994. Arguably their most memorable moment in a European tournament came in the 1995 UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, where they scored a 3-0 first-leg victory over Italian side, Parma.

Rutger Backe is the team's greatest ever goalscorer, amassing 77 goals for the club, including 21 during their 1976 league triumph. Other notable players to play for the side include Fredrik Ljungberg, Niclas Alexandersson, Torbjörn Arvidsson and Mikael Nilsson.

Halmstad play their home games at Örjans Vall, formerly known as Halmstads Idrottsplats. The venue opened back in 1922 and is currently able to hold up to 15,500 supporters.

Loading ...