Hapoel Tel Aviv

Founded In
Tel-Aviv-Yāfā (Tel-Aviv), Israel

About Hapoel Tel Aviv

Hapoel Tel Aviv Football Club's history can be traced back to 1922, although the club was established in its current form in May 1927, after a merger between Hapoel Tel Aviv FC and Allenby FC. Throughout history, the team have been amongst the most successful in Israeli football and they enjoy great popularity within the country. The club have a number of nicknames, including The Red Demons and The Workers. Their main rivals are Maccabi Tel Aviv, with whom they contest the Big Tel Aviv Derby.

In 1967, they became the first ever winners of the newly-created Asian Club Championships. However, since 1995, the club have participated in European competitions instead, where they have enjoyed memorable victories over some of the continent's biggest clubs, including AC Milan, Chelsea and Paris Saint-Germain.

Over the years, Hapoel Tel Aviv have been crowned as league champions on 13 occasions and have finished as runners up 15 times. Their most recent league title came at the conclusion of the 2009-10 season. They have lifted the Israel State Cup 16 times, which includes three consecutive wins in 2010, 2011 and 2012, and the team completed league and cup doubles in 1933-34, 1999-00 and 2009-10. Further success has come in the Israeli Supercup, which the team have picked up five times in total.

Some of the club's most notable ex-players include Yehoshua Feigenbaum, a former club captain and Israel international striker; Yossi Abukasis, who was a product of the youth academy, and Toto Tamuz, who was the Israeli Premier League's top goalscorer for the 2010-11 season.

The Red Demons play their home games at Bloomfield Stadium, which they share with Maccabi Tel Aviv and Bnei Yehuda. The stadium was built in 1962 and was granted category 4 status by UEFA in 2010. It can currently hold up to 14,413 supporters.

Loading ...