Football News

Holders Spain face Ukraine in Euro 2016 qualifying

Created on 23 Feb., 2014 5:14 PM GMT

Defending champions Spain will face Ukraine and Slovakia in their qualifying group for the 2016 UEFA European Championships.

Vicente del Bosque's men swept to a 4-0 victory over Italy in the 2012 final held in Kiev, to back up their 2008 success under previous boss Luis Aragones.

Spain are currently enjoying one of the most dominant eras in history, having also collected the FIFA World Cup in South Africa in 2010.

Ukraine - co-hosts of the 2012 tournament with Poland - will hope to provide a stern test of the holders' credentials, while Luxembourg, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Belarus complete Group C.

Euro 2016 qualifying draw in full:

Group A: Netherlands, Kazakhstan, Iceland, Latvia, Turkey, Czech Republic

Group B: Bosnia-Herzegovina, Andorra, Cyprus, Wales, Israel, Belgium

Group C: Spain, Luxembourg, FYR Macedonia, Belarus, Slovakia, Ukraine

Group D: Germany, Gibraltar, Georgia, Scotland, Poland, Republic of Ireland

Group E: England, San Marino, Lithuania, Estonia, Slovenia, Switzerland

Group F: Greece, Faroe Islands, Northern Ireland, Finland, Romania, Hungary

Group G: Russia, Liechtenstein, Moldova, Montenegro, Austria, Sweden

Group H: Italy, Malta, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Norway, Croatia

Group I: Portugal, Albania, Armenia, Serbia, Denmark & France, who will play centralised friendlies against the other teams that do not count toward the group standings.

Loading ...