Founded In
Espoo (Esbo), Finland

About Honka

Football Club Honka Espoo, usually known as FC Honka, was founded in 1957 under the name Tapion Honka. The club adopted its current name in 1975. Based in Tapiola, for much of their history the team have been seen as under-achievers, who were often close to gaining promotion to the top flight, but were unable to make the final leap up in quality. However, over the course of recent years, the team have established themselves as a top tier side and have started to add major honours to their trophy cabinet.

After several decades competing in the lower tiers, Honka were almost declared bankrupt at the beginning of the 21st century, but were saved and taken over by Jouko Harjunpaa and Jouko Pakarinen in 2005. As a result of their subsequent investment, the club gained promotion to the Veikkausliiga at the end of the year.

Upon reaching the top flight, further investment in the playing squad led to FC Honka quickly competing near the top of the division. To date, their best league finishes have been 2nd place, which they achieved in 2008, 2009 and 2013. The team won their first major honour in 2010, lifting the Finnish League Cup and they were able to retain the trophy in 2011. Then, in the 2012 season, Honka won the Finnish Cup for the first time. Their recent success has also seen them make their debut in the UEFA Europa League.

Amongst the side's most notable former players are Hermanni Vuorinen and Aleksandr Kokko, who were both crowned as the Veikkausliiga top scorer during their time with Honka. The club have also developed a strong reputation for their work at youth level.

FC Honka play their home games at Tapiolan Urheilupuisto, which opened in 1970. It is currently able to hold 5,000 supporters. However, there are plans for the team to relocate to a new 13,000 seater venue in the future.

Loading ...