Ironi Kiryat Shmona

Kiryat Shmona, Israel

About Ironi Kiryat Shmona

Hapoel Ironi Kiryat Shmona Football Club, commonly known as Ironi Kiryat Shmona, was established in 2000 as the result of a merger between two lower division sides, Hapoel Kiryat Shmona and Maccabi Kiryat Shmona. Since taking Hapoel Kiryat Shmona's place in the country's fourth tier, the combined club have gone on to complete a rapid climb through the league system, and have achieved major success in recent times. 

The club's debut season resulted in a Liga Alef North Division title win and promotion up to the third tier. Then, in the 2002-03 season, they finished as runners up in that division and earned another promotion. After two third-place finishes in the second tier, Ironi Kiryat Shmona won the league title in 2006-07 and completed their ascent through the leagues, arriving in the Israeli Premier League. In the process, they became the first team from Kiryat Shmona to ever appear in the country's top flight.

The 2007-08 season saw the club finish in third place and gain qualification for the UEFA Cup; their first major continental competition. However, the following season, they finished bottom of the league and were relegated. After bouncing back at the first attempt, the team went on to reach even greater heights. In 2010–11, they won the Toto Cup Al and then retained the cup the following year. Yet, the 2011-12 season was even more notable for bringing about the side's first ever Israeli league championship. As a result, they became the first team outside of Tel Aviv, Jerusalem or Haifa to win the league in more than thirty years.

Ironi Kiryat Shmona's home matches are played at Kiryat Shmona Municipal Stadium, which is also known as Ironi Stadium. The venue was built in 1989 and has been renovated several times as the club have grown in stature. It is now able to hold a capacity crowd of 5,300 people.

Loading ...