Founded In
Pavlodar, Kazakhstan

About Irtysh

Football Club Irtysh Pavlodar, known more simply as Irtysh, was established in 1965 and originally operated as part of the Soviet Union's football league pyramid. However, since Kazakhstan gained independence, they have grown in stature. They were a founding member of the Kazakhstan Premier League in 1992 and have remained in the division ever since, picking up a number of major honours along the way and emerging as one of the most successful teams in the country.

Over the years, the club has been known by various names. After being founded as Irtysh, they adopted the name Traktor in 1968. Then, upon the foundation of the Kazakhstan Premier League, the name was changed to Ansat. In 1996, the club became Irtysh again, while in 1999 the team briefly competed as Irtysh-Bastau, as part of a sponsorship deal. They have used their current name since 2000.

Altogether, Irtysh have been crowned as Kazakhstan Premier League champions five times, with those titles coming in 1993, 1997, 1999, 2002 and 2003. Further success has been found in the Kazakhstan Cup, which they picked up in 1998, after beating Kaisar 2-1 in the final. As a result of their success at domestic level, the team have participated in a number of continental tournaments. In the 19990s and early 2000s, they played in the Asian Club Championship, with their best performance coming in 2001, when they reached the semi final. Since 2003, however, they have competed in European competitions, appearing in both the UEFA Europa League and UEFA Champions League.

Some of the club's most notable players have included Viktor Antonov, Nilton Pereira Mendes, Murat Tleshev and Ulugbek Bakaev.

Irtysh play their home matches at Pavlodar Central Stadium, which was built in 1947. The stadium was renovated in both 2001 and 2007 and is now able to hold up to 15,000 spectators.

Loading ...