Founded In
Kuopio, Finland

About KuPS

Kuopion Palloseura, usually known as KuPS, was first established in the city of Kuopio back in 1923. Nicknamed 'Kanarialinnut', which translates to 'The Canaries', the team have enjoyed tremendous success in domestic football, winning several major honours throughout history and ranking amongst the most decorated teams in Finland. In addition, between 1949 and 1992, they set the record for the most consecutive years in the country's top division. 

While much of the team's past has been filled with success, KuPS endured a difficult time during the 1990s, suffering relegation to the second tier at the end of the 1994 campaign. Things went from bad to worse in 1997, when they were relegated once again, falling to the third division. However, they bounced back and were able to return to the Veikkausliiga ahead of the 2001 season.

In total, Kuopion Palloseura have been crowned as Finnish league champions on five occasions, with those title wins coming in 1956, 1958, 1966, 1974 and 1976. They have finished as league runners up a further nine times; most recently in 2010. Further success has come in the Finnish Cup, which the team have been able to lift twice, in 1968 and 1989, as well as the Finnish League Cup, their most recent major honour, which the team won in 2006. 

Aulis Rytkönen is widely regarded as the club's greatest ever player and he was crowned the country's Player of the Year three times during his spell with KuPS. Some of the other notable Finnish players to represent the side include Hannu Turunen, Harri Nyyssönen and Kai Nyyssönen, whilst well-known foreign talents to play for the team have included Marcus Gayle and Mart Poom.

The team's home matches are held at Savon Sanomat Areena, previously known as Magnum Areena. The venue opened in 1939 and when both standing and seating spaces are used, it is able to hold up to 5,000 spectators.

Loading ...