Levski Sofia

Founded In
Sofia, Bulgaria

About Levski Sofia

Professional Football Club Levski Sofia, often known more simply as Levski, was first established in May 1914. Based in the capital of Sofia, they are seen as one of the traditional giants of Bulgarian football. Although they have won less domestic league titles than CSKA Sofia, they have won more domestic honours in total, when all cup competitions are taken into consideration. They have also played more top flight seasons than any other Bulgarian side and have never been relegated from the division.

Levski Sofia's main rivals are CSKA Sofia. The two teams are the most popular and successful in the country and the rivalry is based on competition for major honours, as well as their proximity to one another. Matches between the two have been dubbed the 'Eternal Derby of Bulgarian Football' and generate huge interest and an intense atmosphere.

In total, Levski have won 26 domestic league titles, with their most recent win coming in the 2008-09 season. Moreover, the team have achieved huge success in the Bulgarian Cup, which they have lifted on 25 occasions; a competition record. Additional domestic honours have come in the form of a record six Cups of the Soviet Army and 11 Sofia Championships. In 1983–84 the team won the league title, Bulgarian Cup and the Cup of the Soviet Army, to complete a domestic treble. On the continental stage, Levski also became the first Bulgarian side to reach the group stage of the UEFA Champions League in 2006-07.

Nasko Sirakov holds the club's goalscoring record, having scored 206 goals during his time with the team. Other notable former players include Georgi Asparuhov, Stefan Aladzhov and Pavel Panov.

Levski Sofia's home matches are held at the Georgi Asparuhov Stadium, named after their former player. The venue, which has housed the club since its opening in 1963, is also known as Gerena. It is currently able to hold up to 18,000 supporters.

Loading ...