Lokomotiv Sofia

Founded In
Sofia, Bulgaria

About Lokomotiv Sofia

Professional Football Club Lokomotiv Sofia was first established in September 1929 by some local railway workers. Originally operating under the name Railway Sports Club, the team adopted its current name during the 1940s. Over the years, the side have been amongst the most successful in Bulgarian football, winning numerous trophies. They are nicknamed 'The Railwaymen'.

Historically, the club's biggest local rivals have been Slavia Sofia, although rivalries also exist between Lokomotiv Sofia and the other major clubs from the city, CSKA Sofia and Levski Sofia. In addition, a rivalry has also developed with Lokomotiv Plovdiv, and the matches between the two are referred to as the 'Railway Derby'.

Throughout history, the team have achieved significant success in domestic competitions. In total, Lokomotiv Sofia have been crowned as Bulgarian league champions on four occasions, with those wins coming in 1940, 1945, 1964 and 1978. In terms of total number of league title wins, the team's haul of four titles leaves them tied in 4th place with Litex Lovech. In addition, they lifted the Bulgarian Cup in 1948, 1953, 1982 and most recently in 1995. The club have also enjoyed some success in continental competitions, winning the European Railways Cup in 1961 and 1963, as well as the Balkans Cup in 1973. Their best performance in a major UEFA competition came in the 1979–80 UEFA Cup, where they reached the quarter final stage of the competition.

Some of the most notable players to have represented the club over the years include Nikola Kotkov, Atanas Mihaylov, Stoyo Nedyalkov and Georgi Peev.

Lokomotiv Sofia's home matches are played at Lokomotiv Stadium, which first opened back in 1985. The venue underwent renovations in both 2000 and 2013 and is currently able to hold a maximum of 22,000 people. However, the all-seater capacity stands at 17,500.

Loading ...