Maccabi Tel Aviv

Founded In
Tel-Aviv-Yāfā (Tel-Aviv), Israel

About Maccabi Tel Aviv

Maccabi Tel Aviv Football Club was first established in 1906, making it one of the oldest football clubs in Israel. Originally operating under the name HaRishon LeZion-Yaffo, Maccabi are the most successful team in the history of football in the country, in terms of total major honours won, and are also the only Israeli side to have never suffered relegation from the top division. They enjoy huge popularity and are nicknamed 'The Yellows', in reference to their home colours.

The club's main local rivals are Hapoel Tel Aviv. Matches between the two sides are referred to as the 'Big Tel Aviv Derby' and generate widespread interest within the country, due to the success both have achieved. Maccabi Tel Aviv's other main derby match is played against Bnei Yehuda Tel Aviv, while other rivalries exist with Maccabi Haifa and Beitar Jerusalem.

Altogether, Maccabi Tel Aviv have been crowned as league champions on 19 occasions; more than any other Israeli side. They have also lifted the Israel State Cup a record 22 times. Over the years, the club have completed league and cup doubles in seven different seasons, with their most recent double occurring at the end of the 1995–96 campaign. In addition to their success at domestic level, the team have twice been winners of the Asian Club Championship, with those wins coming in 1968–69 and 1970–71.

Former Israel international striker, Avi Nimni, is the club's record goalscorer, and his number 8 jersey has been retired by the club. Menachem Bello has played the most competitive matches for the side, while other notable former players include Giora Spiegel and Yehoshua Glazer.

Maccabi Tel Aviv play their home matches at Bloomfield Stadium, which opened in 1962. The venue, which is shared with Hapoel Tel Aviv and Bnei Yehuda, has undergone renovations several times since the turn of the 21st century, and is currently able to hold a total of 14,413 supporters.

Loading ...