Manchester United

Founded In
Manchester, England

About Manchester United

Manchester United Football Club was founded in 1878 as Newton Heath LYR Football Club before changing its name to Manchester United in 1902. They first played in the football league in 1892 and won their first league title 16 years later in 1908, a feat they repeated three years later.

In 1945 Matt Busby was appointed manager and he would build the foundations for the Manchester United we know today. Three years after his appointment United won the FA Cup for the second time while finishing runners-up in the league on three consecutive occasions between 1947 and 1949. In 1952 the club won the title for the first time in 41 years. The team won the league again in 1956 with a side that became known as the ‘busby babes’ due to the average age of the team, which was just 22-years-old.

In 1958 that team was wiped out in the Munich Air Disaster, which killed 23 people including 8 players, Roger Byrne, Eddie Colman, Duncan Edwards, Mark Jones, Billy Whelan, Tommy Taylor, David Pegg and Geoff Bent.

Busby survived the crash and recovered to build a second great side that won the FA Cup in 1963, the League Championship in 1965 and 1967 followed by the European Cup in 1968. Busby resigned in 1969 and the club went into a tailspin.

The 70's were a lean period for the Red Devils with a relegation to Division 2, a shock loss in the FA Cup final to Southampton and just one major trophy, the FA Cup in 1977 denying Liverpool the domestic treble.

In November 1986, Alex Ferguson became the manager and United’s fortunes changed although it did take four years before Ferguson won his first trophy, the FA Cup. That success spurred on the club and in 27 years, Ferguson has won a further 23 major honors including two UEFA Champions League titles and a record, 12 Premier League crowns.

Manchester United’s stadium is called Old Trafford and it’s the second largest stadium in England with a capacity of 75,765. It has hosted numerous FA Cup semi-finals as a neutral venue, England internationals and the 2003 UEFA Champions League Final. Old Trafford has been United’s home since 1910 and has undergone significant improvements over the last 100 years.

Major Honors

European Cup/UEFA Champions League 1968, 1999, 2008

UEFA Cup Winners Cup 1991

UEFA Super Cup 1991

First Division Championships/Premier League 1908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965, 1967, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011

FA Cup 1909, 1948, 1963, 1977, 1983, 1985, 1990, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2004

League Cup 1992, 2006, 2009, 2010

Loading ...