Founded In
Monterrey, Mexico

About Monterrey

Club de Fútbol Monterrey was formed in June 1945, making them the oldest professional team from northern Mexico. The club has achieved notable success over the years, winning league titles, domestic cup competitions and international tournaments. Since the 1970s, their biggest rivals have been Tigres UANL, with whom they contest the Clásico Regiomontano. Monterrey are currently owned by FEMSA, Mexico's largest beverage company.

The 1980s and early 1990s brought about the team's first taste of major domestic success, first with a Primera División win in 1986 and then with a Copa México win in 1991. Then, in 1993, Monterrey beat Real España to lift the CONCACAF Cup Winners Cup, giving them their first experience of success on the international stage.

In total, the club have been crowned as champions of the Primera División four times, with their other victories coming in 2003, 2009 and 2010. They were also runners up in 2004, 2005 and 2012, which demonstrates the high levels of consistency they have achieved in recent years. In 2010, they won the InterLiga, while in the 2010–11 and 2011–12 seasons, they won the CONCACAF Champions League. In 2012, they also accomplished their best finish in the FIFA Club World Cup, ending the tournament in 3rd place.

Chilean international striker Humberto Suazo is the club's record goalscorer, while Magdaleno Cano holds the record for most appearances for the team. Some of the other well-known players to have represented Monterrey include names like Jesús Arellano, Mario de Souza Mota and Luis Hernández.

The team play home games at the Estadio Tecnológico at Monterrey Institute of Technology. The ground was initially opened in 1950 with a capacity of 20,000. This capacity was increased by renovations during the 1980s, ahead of its use as a venue for the 1986 FIFA World Cup. At present, the stadium is able to seat a maximum of 32,864 supporters for football matches. 

Loading ...